Introduction

It all started after a tense but friendly discussion in which my counterpart was quoting and interpreting scripture in a way that seemed, in my opinion very non Christian. I was witnessing a Christian pick and choose Old Testament scripture to justify the annihilation of an entire group of modern peoples. It had been a long time since I had truly studied the bible, so I was unable to point out scripture that countered his arguments.

Ironically, that same week, I began to use an abandoned office at work. It was abandoned in the sense that the individual who used to use the office was laid off 5 years earlier and the office remained unused, so entering it was basically going back in time when this person received their pink slip, gathered their personal belongings and left the job site for good. Strewn all over the walls were memes, scriptures and quotes. Seek Jesus, the Lord is My Shepherd, 9/11 Never Forget, President Bush – My President, I am the way the truth the life, etc. As I began to organize and make space for my work equipment, I removed a small poster off of a cabinet only to find a hidden poster under it.

It was a printout of what a 5-day weather outlook would look like, and at the top, it said Afghanistan. Monday through Thursday showed generic weather predictions. Friday, however, was nothing but a mushroom cloud. Was putting up a poster indicating the nuclear assault of Afghanistan a Christian thing to do?

I said, “That’s IT!” The bible I read as a child, a teen, and a young adult, and the teachings I received through the church did not mesh, AT ALL, with what I was seeing from many war mongering, hate feeling, and egotistical people who called themselves Christians. Christians acting extremely non Christian is what chased me away from the church and group study to begin with. Suddenly it was coming full circle I was beginning to encounter them more and more in my daily life.

Disclaimer: I am not saying all Christians are like this, I have met many to the contrary, but for some reason I seem to be engaging the war mongering Christians more often and, because it’s been so long since I last studied scripture, I found myself unable to specifically counter their arguments with the only thing that they will listen to besides their pastor or a local questionable Christian radio station: Other Scripture.

So here I go, it’s back to the Bible. Testament by Testament, Book by book, Chapter by Chapter, Verse by Verse. This is going to be a long journey, I am going to be analyzing the King James Version verse by verse, adding my analysis, interpretation, and most of all, my questions. I am not claiming to be right in my translation, but I do pray to God in Jesus name to help me be wise in my reading and to seek out knowledge in the hopes I may share it, right or wrong, with other Christians and create a discourse that leads to better understanding for us all.

Let us begin…

162290096_new-king-james-version-holy-bible-giant-print-nkjv

Leave a Reply

